Rule #32: Enjoy The Little Things

Today turned out to be a pretty good day, even with a bits of drama. Today both my boyfriend’s mom and my dad were both coming to visit. Both can be very stressful situations.
The morning started out a little early for us. I was already awake trying to get the DVD burner on my laptop to work but Randall was still asleep when his mom called saying she was 5 minutes away from our apartment, at like 7:30…she lives an hour away and even went to an appointment before coming here! Having his mom here always makes my boyfriend go a little crazy. Not like he’s super paranoid about everything being perfect but more like he gets annoyed super easy around her.
Thankfully his mom made things way better. We thought we were going to get $30 worth of groceries or maybe a quick fast food lunch. What she did was way better! Insane amount of groceries! Good groceries too, steak and hamburger! She spoiled us. I love when that happens unexpectedly.
Randall’s mom left pretty early, by like 9. My dad wasn’t going to get to town until like 2. So we had some time to kill. I was also pretty excited today because Randall had ordered a promise ring for me and it was being delivered today. Fortunately it came before shortly before 2 and it fit! Very happy about that.


Lunch with my dad went pretty much as I expected. But that can only be something typical of an offspring being a complete opposite of it’s parent. Something never to talk about with my dad is politics. It starts out him telling you you’re wrong and then explaining how and why you’re wrong, all while you are obviously trying to change the subject. I brought up zombies for shits sake! But hey, I got a free nice lunch. And he brought me my DVD player from high school (it was 5 years ago don’t gasp too loudly).
So now that I have my DVD player the big ass tv my mom gave me (it’s older and doesn’t support HDMI) is super awesome in my living room. Sadly the DVD burner program I downloaded did not work. We’ll keep trying on that…


So despite a few hiccups today was pretty awesome. We even watched Zombieland, one of my all time favorites.

Leave a Reply

